What is the difference between vegan and vegetarian? A lot of people have a tendency to think that the two are synonymous, meaning the same thing. However, this is incorrect. The truth is, there are some similarities between the two but there are also some very important differences between being a vegan and a vegetarian. Therefore, it is imperative to understand these differences in order to better understand how these two different groups view the food they put inside their bodies & how to become vegan. In addition, it is even more important to understand the meaning behind these two terms if you yourself are thinking of changing your own eating habits.
What is a vegetarian?
In short, a vegetarian is someone who does not eat any kind of meat. In other words, these individuals don’t eat hamburgers or pepperoni pizza, but they also refrain from eating chicken, turkey, or seafood. To put it bluntly, vegetarians don’t eat any kind of meat product whatsoever, whether that comes in the form of a bologna sandwich or a Cornish hen. Therefore, they center most of their diet around fruits and vegetables. However, they do eat things like eggs and dairy products. Therefore, it is perfectly acceptable for a vegetarian to eat eggs and toast for breakfast and follow that up with a nice cold glass of milk. However, they won’t be having any bacon on their plate, nor will there be anything else there that involves any type of meat product.
What is a vegan diet?
In many ways, the vegan diet actually mirrors a vegetarian diet, but there are some key differences that you should be keenly aware of. Just like a vegetarian, vegans do not eat meat of any kind. For some reason, some people have the impression that they will eat fish but this is not true, either. Individuals that will eat fish and nothing else are called pescetarians. Vegans, on the other hand, do not eat meat at all. It doesn’t matter what it is, how it is cooked, or where it comes from. The biggest difference between the vegan diet and the vegetarian diet is that vegans also refrain from eating anything else that is produced by an animal. That means they don’t eat eggs, nor do they consume dairy products. While they might drink milk made from coconut, almonds, or soy, they will not consume milk that has been produced by cows. The same is true for any other dairy products that is available.
Now that you know the major difference between a vegetarian diet and a vegan diet, you can better determine if one of these diets would fit your own needs. Perhaps you have been considering cutting meat out of your diet for quite some time, but you weren’t really sure which way to go with it. Maybe you eat meat on a regular basis but you just wanted to know more about the differences between the two. Whatever the reason, now that you know what those differences are, you can gain a better understanding of how people choose to utilize food for nutrition.